. . . . not to staple the packaging to the product!

I mostly use my Featherweight to sew 1/4″ seams, but last month I decided to use her for flip and sews. You know where you place a small square piece on a larger piece and sew corner to corner, commonly called “sno-balls” I thought a darling daisy shaped seam guide  might be worthy of such a splendid machine.

Seams_Sew_Easy_01

My thoughts were not shared with the packaging department, where the wicked stapler vicously weilded his weaponry through the bag and the seam guide, tearing it in several directions.

Seams_Sew_Easy_03

I’m a fixer. I fix things. I tried to snap the pieces together flat to no avail.

When I spend slave-like-a-dog-cash on an 80 year old machine, countless hours polishing her to a fine sheen, more time selecting and assembling fabric to make a  tote with matching scratch free bed cover to protect her from the elements, I will not unceremoniously place a jagged thingy of any sort on her bed!

 

Seams_Sew_Easy_02

Hopefully Connecting Threads will replace this item, so I can get on with my life. I have a lot of snoballs to make!

  • Before I recieve suggestions on how to live without this seam guide, just know that:

1 I will not

2 I have other machines, and did in fact already use my Rocketeer to do some snoballing.

Update: They sent another one out quickly, and it was not stapled to the packaging. Yay!

Q: what is it?

A: This picture of my Rocketeer with “The Angler” seam guide was a test after I refurbished it.  Normally, I would have made tiny holes to screw it into the bed instead of the tape. Anyway there are 1/4 inch lines on BOTH sides of the needle, plus diagonal lines to sew corner to corner without having to mark the fabric. The daisy shaped one has different lines, but works much the same way.

Thread_CrossWound_500_01

 

#SeamsSewEasy #BeeinMyBonnet #BadStapler #Rocketeer

 

2 thoughts on “Seams Sew Easy

  1. You stick this to the bed of the machine, and use the lines to sew on. Great for machines with an unmarked stitch plate, or those machines with a [seemingly random] number instead of an actual measurement. Because this is bigger than the stitch plate, you can see more of the lines. Plus for snoballing, or sewing corner to corner, you don’t have to draw on the fabric. You can just line up your fabric diagonally on one of the 1/4 lines. I added a picture of one [not flower shaped] on my Rocketeer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

