Many people have seen Jenny from Missouri Star Quilt Company’s video on making a quilt she calls Starburst, and would like to make it bigger. Me too.

Yes, I am breaking another rule, because I haven’t made this quilt yet. I’m actualy playing with HST’s right now in another project, but I thought I’d have some fun ‘on paper’ with this for a moment. I’ll post that project later.

Starburst Quilt Video

Jenny’s quilt is 58×58 including a 4.5″ border [49×49 without border]. It uses 16 colored  Layer cake pieces [or 10″ square], and 16 background layer cake [or 10″ square] pieces. She has 8 rows and 8 columns.

I designed the same quilt using 36 colored Layer Cake pieces [plus 36 background Layer Cake pieces] based on her method shown in the video above resulting in a 6″ block.  The blocks will actually be close to 6.125 which is 6 and an 8th inches. Trim them down to 6″ or not, but just know your quilt may be slightly bigger than my measurements if you don’t. Being bigger doesn’t seem to hurt here, since that is the purpose of this.

With same size border [4.5] as Jenny’s it will be 81×81
[72×72 without border] I also colored the original 8 rows and 8 columns of blocks differently to help visualise the added on rows. There are 12 rows and 12 columns in this version.

picture_quilt_starburst_81x81w4-5border_36lcs_6inblocks

Color option with the incomplete diamonds on the outside edges blending into the border, which I like better.

picture_quilt_starburst_81x81w4-5border_36lcs_6inblocks02

Here is the same thing, but using 49 layer cake pieces [plus 49 background Layer Cake pieces] to make 93×93 with the 4.5 border, or 84×84 without. Layer cakes tyically come in packs of 40, so you’ll have to hit up your stash.

There are 14 rows and 14 columns. Again, I have colored the original 8 rows and 8 columns of blocks differently to help visualise the added on rows.

picture_quilt_starburst_93x93w4-5border_49lcs_6inblocks

If those aren’t big enough, here is a 100″ square one with the incomplete diamonds on the outside edges blending in to the 2″ border, that will take 56 [each of the red and background] Layer Cake pieces [or 10″ squares]. Not 64 if you are paying attention, because  28 of the HST’s plus 4 corner blocks are paired with the border color.

Again, I have colored the original 8 rows and 8 columns of blocks differently to help visualise the added on rows. This one has 16 rows and columns.

picture_quilt_starburst_100x100w2border_56lcs_6inblocks

I hope you enjoyed my resized version’s of Jenny’s lovely quilt!

and now I can get back to my tiny little HST project.

Leave a Reply

