Quilting is a journey.

Sometimes a quilt represents the end of one, and sometimes the beginning. Every quilt I make, I do with the person I am making it for on my mind. Whether they know it or not, they took that journey with me. I learn things about them, as well as myself.  This quilt has a few names, but I like “Love Knot”
After finishing my Featherweight test quilt, made with what turned out to be a hideously ugly jelly roll, I decided to make my Mom a quilt for mother’s day. It was February, so I had plenty of time, and the wheels turned in my head of traveling the 800 miles to hand it to her on Mother’s Day! My Mother and I had turned a milestone about 10 years ago, and somehow this would be symbolic of my having moved on from the past, and into the  future. One where neither of us would see ourselves as a failure.

Such lofty goals.

I found a pattern I liked that magazine’s often send you for free to consider subscribing to them, called “Spice market”. It was a partial log cabin, lots of angles, so not too ‘girly’ or old fashioned, and I hadn’t done a log cabin yet. I had turquoise [not teal] and silver [not gray] in mind, but every time I went to the store, I couldn’t find the shades I had in my head. The tones were all muted or distorted from what I had in mind. I wanted bright and cheery, yet warm, and it had to match her decor, because this was to be a couch quilt. Big enough for Mom and her 2nd husband to snuggle under.

Pattern_Spice_600.jpg

More lofty goals.

I soak in a hot tub every evening and read books or, look at quilt books, and dream. Before I even had the fabric picked out, I saw a pattern in one book and ear marked it. Later, I saw the same pattern in a log cabin book, and ear marked that. Two books – one pattern – two different methods, and names, but I still liked it days later. It was the same block as in the free pattern, but the block orientation, and color placement was the key. The secondary pattern with the two main colors linking together is what put it over the top. I had to make this.

 

Pattern_Linked_Chevrons_600.jpg

hmmmmmmmm, changing your view, changes the outcome.

On one of my trips to the fabric store, I found a cheery print with turquoise, navy, silver and green, and tried to work other colors in. I never could find the right silver. Then I found the perfect backing, but it was in 2 pieces, and my coupon was for “one cut” We worked it out, and I ended up with a 2 yard piece and a 2.5 yard piece of a lovely batik in silvery blue with brown grape leaf motifs. Then I found a brown floral batik. [Mom’s new husband loves chocolate!] Still later I found a nice gray leaf print by Amy Butler. I now had both warm and cool colors, and was ready for a test block! Unfortunately, this pattern would need at least 10 test blocks to see if I liked it all together.

fabric_choices02_600

There’s a learning curve in these log cabin blocks. Two books with two sets of instructions. The instructions I chose to follow had me sewing strip sets, sub cutting into square blocks, then sewing the two blocks together on the bias just like half square triangles, and I quickly learned that cutting the blocks from the strip sets had to be very consistent!

quilt_loveknot_mom_stripsets_600

When cutting blocks from strip sets, it is neccessary to line up the rulers lines to the seam lines. Every. Time.

quilt_loveknot_mom_stripset_trim_600

I picked up some Omnigrid Glow Line Tape on a whim awhile back, and applied the tape to my ruler, to help line up the squares as I cut them. I got better blocks after that.

quilt_loveknot_mom_stripset_trim_again_600

Just like pancakes, the first blocks will not be used!

quilt_loveknot_mom_first_blocks_600

*except to pin on my wall to keep me oriented when assembling the good blocks.

quilt_loveknot_mom_first_blocks_sewn_600

checking them out in my audition booth that I made

quilt_loveknot_mom_test_blocks01_600

and here we are . . . . I see a pattern emerging!

quilt_loveknot_mom_test_blocks02_600

quilt_loveknot_mom_layout_600

Border, or no?

quilt_loveknot_mom_border_turquoise_600

Yes, a chocolate border it is!

quilt_loveknot_mom_border_chocolate_600

Finished!

Quilt_LoveKnot_Mom_Finished_600.jpg

As it turned out, my Mom was going to visit my sister 2 states over, the week after Mothers Day, so, no, I didn’t take it to her, but I did hand it to her the first week of June, when she stopped by on her return trip home.

Home is where the heart is, and a piece of my heart now resides there.

quilt_loveknot_mom_home-500

 

#Loftygoals #LogCabinQuilt #LoveKnots #MissionAccomplished

One thought on “Love Knots

  1. I discovered your blog post site on google and check a few of your early posts. Always keep in the great operate. I simply extra the RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for toward reading much more on your part at a later date!…

    Like

Leave a Reply

